Daily Archives: January 10, 2011

Carry On up the High Street

In which the Wartime Housewife opens her mouth before her brain is fully engaged.  Again.

This is an example of a pair of knockers rather than the knockers in question.

As I have to return my hire car today, I took it in to be valeted which meant leaving it at the garage for an hour.  I walked into town, did some shopping, had some lunch and sauntered back, enjoying the opportunity to look at my surroundings in greater detail than I normally do when I’m whizzing past in the car.

I paused outside an attractive, semi-detached pair of Victorian townhouses, as I noticed that they had rather lovely door furniture.  As I was standing there, a lady turned into one of the houses and saw me standing there.

“Can I help you?”  she asked politely.
“Oh, no thank you,” I said, smiling. “I was just looking at your lovely knockers”.

My voice tailed off as I realised what’d I’d said.  We both started laughing until the tears were pouring down our faces.

“Thank you very much,” she said “That’s the nicest thing anyone’s said to me today!”
“You’re most welcome.” I said.

I scurried off down the road as fast as my legs would carry me, giggling uncontrollably like a madwoman.  Exactly like a madwoman.

14 Comments

Filed under Life in general