Daily Archives: November 13, 2009

No sign of a Woodcock

I like something hot inside me on a cold winter’s day and Scotch Woodcock is a tasty variation on scrambled egg on toast.  If you haven’t had Gentleman’s Relish before, it is made from anchovies and is therefore quite salty, so go easy with it at first.  I have no idea why it’s called ‘Scotch Woodcock’ any more than I know why a Wartime lentil dish could be construed as ‘Mock Duck’, but that is the joy of British cookery.

I confess now that I make scrambled eggs in the microwave because I cannot bear washing up eggy pans.  You do it just the same as you would in a pan, you just have to keep taking it out and whisking it periodically with a fork to keep it fluffy.  You have to watch it quite carefully to make sure it’s not overdone, but that’s the price one pays for meddling with Satan’s Stove.  I have never had anything but low, spaniel fawning from people over my scrambled egg, so don’t get sniffy about it.
This recipe serves 2.

SCOTCH WOODCOCK

Utensils:
1 x heavy based saucepan or a microwave safe bowl
1 x whisk

Ingredients:
4 slices of wholemeal or granary toast – buttered
1 small tub of Gentleman’s Relish
4 eggs
1 tblspn milk
1 oz (30g) butter
1 tablspn double cream
A bit of fresh parsley to garnish if you’re feeling posh

Method:
Spread the toast generously with Gentleman’s Relish
Melt the butter with the milk in the saucepan
Add the eggs and whisk well to blend
Cook over a low heat, whisking periodically until the egg is just setting nicely.
Remove from the heat, season with a little back pepper and whisk in the cream
Pile onto the toast, garnish if you’re going to and serve immediately.

3 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes