My name is The Wartime Housewife and I love Golliwogs

Object group

Golly Stuff

I really love Gollys, I always have and I get very indignant and grumpy when I hear people getting all pc about them.  I miss the Robertson’s Golly and the Golly out of the Noddy books and I resolutely and stroppily buy every Golly related item I can lay my hands on.

There was a programme on Radio 2 last year with Jeremy Vine, where the thorny issue of Gollys was discussed and people rang in with their views.  The responses pretty much backed up what I knew from my own friends and suspected about others: 

Noddy Golly

The Golly from Noddy

Black people don’t think they look like Gollys. 
I bet that’s come as a surprise.
It doesn’t matter how strenuously the white, liberal, middle classes hop up and down and suggest that everyone is deeply offended by them (the Gollys that is) –  I would suggest that it is only they who draw the comparison, not anyone else.

It was in this frame of mind that I embarked on a personal crusade to re-introduce Gollys back into society.  I developed a knitting pattern (inspired by a pattern I found in an Australian magazine) and set the Aged Parent and her Cronie to knitting; they knitted the pattern pieces and I made them up and ‘finished’ them.  

Golly group

Two well-loved and one brand new red Golly

I decided to put a ‘slant’ on the traditional style; we called them ‘Gollywiggles’ in homage to Ms Upton, and we made them in lots of different colours, some with contrasting hair and different clothes – as I write, a Girly Golly and a Ghosty Golly are in production.  I made very smart drawstring bags, and each toy had a limited edition certificate, as no two are the same, and a history of the Golly.  They were very popular, so we’re making some more.

How did Gollys begin?

Florence Upton is generally acknowledged to be the creator of the Golly.  Although born in America, she and her mother, Bertha moved back to England in 1889.  At the age of 22 Florence illustrated her first book which was written by her mother.  It was called “The Adventures of Two Dutch Dolls” which was based on her own childhood toys.  In the story there is a Gollywog, and the original Dutch Dolls and the Gollywog live at Chequers in Buckinghamshire, the country home of the Prime Minister. 

Florence Upton Golly 2

Florence Upton's original Golly

Where does the word ‘Golly’ or ‘Gollywog’ come from?

To name her character, Florence altered the word ‘Pollywog’ which was a dialect word meaning ‘wiggle head’.  This came from ‘pol’ meaning head and wiggle which over many years became waggle, woggle, wog. Gollys are tremendously popular in Australia where the Collins Australian Dictionary defines the word Gollywog as “…a black-faced, goggle-eyed, fantastically dressed doll…” .

So altogether now …

WHAT DO WE WANT?  GOLLYS!

WHEN DO WE WANT THEM?  WHENEVER WE LIKE!

(That should get ’em going)

11 Comments

Filed under Children, Poetry, Literature, Music and Art

11 responses to “My name is The Wartime Housewife and I love Golliwogs

  1. I did some research on the Robertson’s Golly for More from Unmitigated England, and discovered that they helped sell over 45 million jars of their products every year. And how many complaints did they get? The most in a single year was ten.

  2. Oh WH, this post almost brings tears to my eyes…for 2 reasons.

    1. I lost my collection of Golliwog brooches (dating back to the sixties) in a divorce. Although I still have a keyring, preserve spoon, hand towel etc.

    2. My local supermarket, in the last month or so, has discontinued to carry Golden Shred, the availability of which was one of the reasons I have been able to survive in the USA. I suppose I am going to have to find it online for some exorbitant price!

    • wartimehousewife

      Oh Vinogirl, I feel completely gutted for you. I would love to collect the brooches and little figures too but I collect so many things that I would have to give up eating or be forced to sell The Boys for medical experiments. At least you still have the kitchen accoutrments to comfort you in your loss.

      As for the Golden Shred, I sympathise but I’m afraid I stopped buying it when they dropped the Golly, as a protest. I have defected to Frank Coopers, which is well worth a go OR as you live in a sunny place which may well grow oranges, have a go at making some!!!! I’m quite sure you have absolutely nothing else to fill you days. (tee hee).

  3. The brooches weren’t exactly a ‘collection’…I got every last one myself by collecting those 10 little shaped paper Gollies that used to be just slid in behind the back label.
    As for marmalade, all other brands pale in comparison to my tastebuds I’m afraid. I understand that you are upset with Robertson’s…I was none too pleased when they quit making damson jam, but the ‘Duchy’ makes a more than admirable substitute.

  4. Bunty

    These offended (and, in my opinion, offensive) do-gooders really get up my nose, for a number of reasons. Firstly, do they think black people are so stupid that they are unable to express offense on their own behalf, if they were indeed offended? Secondly, if these much loved and lovable toys were to be representing black people, which I know they are not, wouldn’t it be a good thing for racial harmony for children to have a toy like that to love – positive representation. And thirdly, it is my belief that all this avid pc-ness inflames and emphasises prejudices and makes normally level-headed people JUST WANT TO RANT !!!!

    PS. I have just got back from the Caribbean and have to report that I did not see a single golly / golliwog, and no-one whatsoever was wearing a gaily coloured bowtie or waistcoat, although some brightly coloured trousers were spotted. I confess that I did see some wiggles, particularly on party night, but I think that’s related to a different topic altogether …….

  5. I bought my grandson a Golly from a shop on Llandudno pier last year. Yours look far nicer 🙂
    There is also a shop in my home town which sells retro Golly kitchenalia. I keep meaning to buy myelf a mug.

    • wartimehousewife

      Retro Golly Kitchenalia? You are singing my song, Mrs Pogle! Does it have a website do you know?

      A propos of nothing, I used to love The Pogles when I was little. My sister and I had this game where I would read stories from the Pogles annual and she would try to play tunes on the piano which matched the story. Eventually I would start making up outrageous stories to see if she could keep up!

  6. lyn thomson

    do you sell the knitted golly pattern? love the pink faced one.

    • wartimehousewife

      Welcome Lyn Thomson. I don’t sell the pattern but I will be selling the Gollywiggles which can be made to order. Watch this space!

Leave a comment